Staff & Advisory Council

About Us


Awanti Sura

Operations Manager

Nathan Fey


Nathan is the Director for the Colorado Outdoor Recreation Industry Office. A 6th generation Coloradan, Nathan grew up in Weld and Boulder Counties and has a long career as an active whitewater paddler and recreation advocate throughout the West.  Nathan has been a member of American Whitewater since 1990 and was hired by the organization in 2007 to oversee the organization’s Conservation, Access, and Safety Programs in Colorado. Nathan served as the lead recreation representative in several high-level stakeholder efforts focused on the Colorado, Dolores, Yampa, Arkansas, and San Juan River basins, including State-led alternatives to federal management actions. Nathan is also a founding partner of Outdoor Alliance Colorado (OAC), and served as liaison for American Whitewater in OAC initiatives. Prior to joining the OREC team, Nathan served on the OREC Advisory Council.

Samantha Albert

Deputy Director

Samantha stepped joined the Colorado Outdoor Recreation Industry Office (ORec) in 2017. Her work as Deputy Director supports the office’s mission of inspiring industries and communities to thrive in Colorado’s great outdoors. Prior to her work with ORec she worked for El Pomar Foundation where she directed the Regional Partnerships program and worked to support regional grant making in Northwest Colorado. She spends her free time participating in a variety of outdoor activities, with some of her favorites including skiing, backpacking and rafting.

Advisory Council

Jason Bertolacci


Berbur LLC

Scott Braden

Lodore Consulting LLC

Tim Brass

State Policy Manager

Backcountry Hunters & Anglers

Chris Castillian

Executive Director

Great Outdoors Colorado (GOCO)

Carlos Fernandez

State Director

The Nature Conservancy in Colorado

Bill Gamber

Co Founder and President

Big Agnes/Honey Stinger

Gary Gomulinski

Senior VP of Commercial Banking

Alpine Bank

Vickie Hormuth

Director of Strategic Partnerships

American Alpine Club

David Leinweber


Anglers Covey

Tony Lewis

Executive Director

Donnell-Kay Foundation

Annelise Loevlie


Icelantic Skis

Morgan Lommele

Director of State + Local Policy

People for Bikes

Kim Miller


Scarpa North America

Mario Molina

Executive Director

Protect Our Winters

Len Necefer, Ph.D.



Peter O’Neil

Executive Director

Colorado Outward Bound School

Don Riggle

Director of Operations

Trails Preservation Alliance

Jason Robertson

Deputy Director for Recreation, Lands, and Minerals

US Forest Service

Sarah Shrader


Bonsai Design

Brian St. George

Deputy State Director for Resources and Fire

BLM Colorado State Office

Irene Vilar


Americas Latino Eco Festival

Nick Watson

Executive Director and Co-Founder

Veterans Expeditions

Dan Zimmerer

State Partnership Coordinator

Colorado Parks and Wildlife


Rebecca Bear

Michael Brown

Kristin Carpenter-Ogden

Ken Gart

Kenji Haroutunian

Todd Herrick

Penn Newhard

Phil Powers

Erik Weihenmayer

Suzanne White

Mark Woodworth